Harpur Hill Primary School

Trent Avenue, Buxton, Derbyshire SK17 9LP

01298 23261



What do Governors do?

The School Governors play an important role in supporting the Headteacher to effectively lead and manage the school. The full governing board meets once each term.

The three core functions of a governing board, as reflected in Ofsted’s inspection criteria are:

  • Setting vision, ethos and strategic direction, engaging stakeholders, and ensuring statutory duties are met.

  • Holding headteachers to account for teaching, achievement, behaviour and safety; challenging and strengthening leadership; contributing to school self-evaluation.
  • Ensuring financial solvency and probity with effective management of financial resources, including the Pupil Premium, to raise standards.

Our governors liaise with Derbyshire County Council about the maintenance of school buildings, equipment and aspects of finance.  They oversee what is taught in the school including the introduction of National Curriculum initiatives and their effectiveness. They approve policy statements and determine the school's financial affairs as well as overseeing health and safety, and the appointment of staff.  They work closely with the school staff, receiving regular reports from the Headteacher.

Governors regularly visit the school and have links with staff, pupils, parents and the local community. 


Who are the Governors?

The governing board comprises 12 members:

3 parent governors, 1 Local Authority governor, 1 Headteacher, 1 staff governor and 6 co-opted governors. Our Instrument of Governance was reconstituted on 11th November 2014.

Governors can be contacted through the school office: Tel: 01298 23261

Harpur Hill Primary School, Trent Avenue, Harpur Hill, Buxton, Derbyshire SK17 9LP

The Clerk is Pat Gyongyosipatgyongyosi@harpurhill.derbyshire.sch.uk

The Chair of Governors is Mark Rushworthmarkr@harpurhill.derbyshire.sch.uk 


Business Interests

Mark Rushworth: Works for Corporate Property at Derbyshire County Council

David Smith: Works at High Peak Borough Council


Governor Roles

We have 2 main governors’ sub-committees:

  • Leadership and Management (including Finance and Performance Management)
  • Learning, Teaching and Assessment 


Leadership and Management (including Finance and Performance Management)

The Leadership and Management Committee, reviews how the resources of the school are managed. The committee reviews the school’s finance polices and school budget along with policies and matters relating to staffing and personnel, premises and health and safety.  

Chair: Ryan Gordine: ryangordine@harpurhill.derbyshire.sch.uk

Members: Ryan Gordine, Mathew Lomas, Vicky Morten, Paul Wood, Mark Rushworth 


Learning, Teaching and Assessment Committee

The Learning, Teaching and Assessment Committee reviews the curriculum along with teaching and learning and curriculum-related policies. They monitor the quality of teaching and learning within the school, and assessment aspects of the school. It regularly reviews the School Improvement Plan and monitors the school’s selfevaluation summary and progress towards key areas identified by Ofsted. This committee regularly analyses the performance of the school in terms of pupil progress and attainment. It also monitors the impact of the Pupil Premium grant.

Chair: Sylvia Bunting: sylviab@harpurhill.derbyshire.sch.uk 

Members: Sylvia Bunting, Lis Carver, David Smith, Mark Rushworth


Named Governors

We also have named governors who have responsibility for key areas, such as Literacy, numeracy, safeguarding, health and safety, and SEND etc. 


Governor Profiles


Date of appointment

Term of office expires


Appointed by

Mark Rushworth



Co-opted Governor

Chair of Governing Board

Governing Body

Sylvia Bunting



LA Governor

Chair of TLA Committee

County Council




Vice Chair of

Governing body



David Smith




Parent Governor


Governing Body

Paul Wood




Co-opted Governor


Governing Body

Vicky Morten




Co-opted Governor


Governing Body

Lis Carver




Staff Governor


Governing Body

Victoria Giliker




Head Teacher



Mathew Lomas




Parent Governor


Parents of school

Ryan Gordine



Parent Governor

Chair of Leadership Committee

Parents of school

Caitlin Bisknell




Co-opted Governor


Governing Body 

Vicky Morrell




Co-opted Governor


Governing Body


Resignations in last 12 months:

Mrs Louise Davis             Joined November 2014              Resigned October 2017

Mr Colin Boynton            Joined December 2016               Resigned October 2017